The Coupon Quest Begins!

OK….Day one. So this all began a couple of weeks ago when I saw a YouTube video on “normal” extreme couponing. It intrigued me!  I don’t think I have really ever used a
coupon before…EVER! I always just figured it was some sort of scam…that the stores would raise the prices and then throw a coupon your way to lure you in. But what I saw was that these normal everyday moms, like yours truly, were
saving a ton of money on items that my family uses daily….and items that I unknowingly am spending A LOT of hard earned money on.So, step one was to subscribe to the local paper. That meant calling up the Washington Post and handing over a credit card number…which meant spending money!  Am I already
failing my mission? I hope not. No coupons= no deals right? I went ahead and did a little online searching around and found a website www.discountednewspapers.com which allowed me as a
first time subscriber to get the Sunday paper delivered for 20 weeks at only .99 per week ( a discount of 46%)!! My first savings!! Exciting!
So the schooling begins. Tonight I will :
1) clip out the coupons
2) review the sales from my local pharmacies, super stores and grocery stores.

That doesn’t sound too
difficult!  Oh I forgot to mention

3) pick the kids up from school
4) prepare, serve and clean up dinner

I am really excited about this Quest and hope to find a few new couponers to come along with me. What have we got to lose right?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fashionablysaving
    Oct 10, 2012 @ 10:23:15

    I’m excited for you as you begin your journey learning about saving money. One of the biggest ways to save is just to pay attention to what’s on sale, and if you have a coupon for it that makes the deal even better. 🙂

    I live in Northern VA too, and I use the Washington Post as well. 🙂

    Good luck with your couponing adventure! You have a great website. Let me know if you ever have questions about using coupons or anyhing.

    Have a great day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

